Mom’s Accident & My Goodbye

Mom’s Accident and My Goodbye
I don’t know what to call it. Other than mom’s accident. But it seems so much more than that. It was such a freak accident. It was just a normal routine. Then in the blink of an eye, it all went to hell. Life is never certain or promised. We’re not promised tomorrow. Even today for that matter. We just have one day at a time.
It was last Wednesday morning when Mom opened my door to my house. Which she does every morning to let my dog out while she feeds the horses. Well this time was different. Mom went out to do morning chores like she always does. Then when she let my horse Rocky out he didn’t want to wait. He charged at her and trampled my mom. When this happened no one else accept me was home and I was sleeping. So, after it happened how my mom got to my door from the scene of the accident was a bit of miracle and fight for life. When she opened my door, she yelled Megan I’ve been hurt! The meanwhile the neighbor came and helped my mom and me.
We get to the ER and the staff is doing a great job at taking care of my Mom. Mom was in denial about how serious her injuries were. The doctor decided to take x rays of the leg. The result- she broke her leg with fibula and fibula bone in her leg. She had surgery to set and clean the injury. Now she is at home recovering.
After the midst of all this we had a descion to make. Please don’t give me judgement about this. But My Rocky horse had to be put down. The history of how we got him was unclear. We rescued him three years ago from a rescue farm. Well the odd thing is the gal that we had bought him from just informed us that the other two horses that we got him from was just put down due to neurological issues. The odd thing is Rocky had been acting weird lately. This was not an easy descion but we all agreed it was the most humane thing we could have done. If he did this to someone that he knew, if we decided to give him away, who knows if he would do it again? I told my Mom I understood the descion and that it was not an easy descion because of the time and the effort that we both have put into this horse since we got him.
I will forever miss Rocky. It was kind of cool when I got him. I was well into my first year of sobriety when I got him and he was a rescue pony. It’s been quite a few years since my accident and I had stopped riding after that. So, in a way I felt that Rocky and I were climbing mile stones together. I will miss you buddy. I know we did the right thing.
What I’m gaining from this is gratitude and independence. I didn’t realize how precious life is. Instead of hating God or my higher power, I leaned on him and thought of the positive. My mom is alive and still with us. When this accident could have easily killed her. It also helped me appreciate what my momma does for me. Now it’s my turn to give back to her, and help me reach out and learn more of my independence.
This is the first time in thirty years plus where we a horseless. I have a strong feeling that this will not be an end of this chapter. A new chapter will be involving just don’t know yet. Now we wait for time to heal, and thank you all for the love and support that is continuously given to my family. I am truly blessed.

Leave a comment